Photo: J. Perreault

Renowned for his original concepts and inventive stagings, he's been at the heart of over forty live stage productions as director, author, translator and concept designer. His creations have been presented in many different venues all over Quebec, Canada and North America notably with the Cirque du Soleil, the Just For Laughs Festival and many theater stages such as the Théâtre Denise-Pelletier, Théâtre d'Aujourd'hui, Théâtre du Rideau Vert and the Théâtre du Nouveau Monde.

He's been given many recognitions for his artistic works starting with the Masque award for Revelation of the year (2003/with Simon Boudreault) for his adaptation and directing of his first professional theater show L'Honnête Fille by Goldoni at the Théâtre Denise-Pelletier. In this same venue, he'll also receive the public appreciation awards for best show and directing of the season for Les Jumeaux Vénitiens by Goldoni (2004) and Dr. Jekyll and M. Hyde by Stevenson (2008). His impressive adaptation of Vernes' 20 000 leagues under the sea (2009) with his company (Théâtre des Ventrebleus) will bring him notable praises and confirm his defining interest for physical stage performance and innovation in technical stage design.

Rhinocéros, TNM 2007
Photo: Y. Renaud

He's the author, concept designer and director of all the companies' successful creations spanning over 25 years. The productions include Scrooge by Dickens (2002), Poe inspired by the life and works of Edgar Allan Poe (2006), Rex (2008) and Les Mythomanes (2014). Scrooge (2002), Poe (2006), Rex Les Mythomanes

His adaptation and staging of the show Tout Shakespeare pour les nuls at the Just For Laughs Festival in 2006 will grant it the award for Best show of the year. His creation Théâtre Extrême, with the Théâtre du Vaisseau d'Or, will be cited as Top5 best shows of the year in 2007. The same year, his adaptation and staging of Huit Femmes by Robert Thomas will take home the Golden Ticket for most tickets sold on tour. The play Rhinocéros by Ionesco, which he directed, will follow with four Gascon-Roux awards at the Théâtre du Nouveau-Monde in 2008.

He's a two times recipient of the Desjardins Cultural Grand Prize awards for stage artist of the year in 2014 and 2016. He was also finalist for the same awards in 2013 and 2015. In 2016, he will also be part of the production Gloucester (Théâtre de La Bordée and Place des Arts) which marks the first publication of one of his plays, co-written with Simon Boudreault (Dramaturges éditeurs).

In 2010, he enters the circus world with Omaterra, a multimedia waterworks circus creation presented in Sherbrooke for two consecutive years. The show will receive the Tourism Grand Prize.

Stone, CDS 2017
Photo: MA Lemire

In 2015, he joins the Cirque du Soleil as director and original concept designer for the Tribute Series presented at the Cogeco Amphitheater in Trois-Rivières. He's at the heart of the overwhelming successes of all five shows: Le Monde est Fou (Beau Dommage, 2015), Tout Écartillé (Robert Charlebois, 2016), Stone (Luc Plamondon, 2017), Juste une p’tite nuite (Les Colocs, 2018) and Joyeux Calvaire (Les Cowboys Fringants, 2019). He's offered his first big top show for the Cirque du Soleil in 2019 with the acclaimed relecture of the iconic show Alegria-In a new light.He's also worked on many project development for the Cirque Soleil, namely Biloxi-Mississipi, Beijing-China, Osaka-Japan and soon to be created La Valette-Malta.

He's directed many times within up-and-coming companies and professional theater schools like the Conservatoire d'Art Dramatique de Montréal (SMOG/2003), the National Theater School Of Canada with Scenes from the big picture by Owen McCafferty (2006) and Méphisto by Ariane Mnouchkine (2008). He staged his first musical theater production at the professional musical theater option of the Lionel-Groulx college in 2009 with the creation of Brecht/Weills' L’Opéra de Quat’sous 

Time permitting, he regularly gives workshops in staging, directing and playwriting. He recently was in charge of university playwriting classes at the École Supérieure de Théâtre (UQAM 2020-21).

Photo: J. Perreault

Reconnu pour ses concepts audacieux et mises en scènes inventives, Jean-Guy Legault possède une feuille de route de plus d’une quarantaine de productions à titre de metteur en scène, auteur, traducteur et créateur de concepts originaux. Ses créations ont été présentées un peu partout au Québec, au Canada et en Amérique du nord, notamment au sein de plusieurs productions du Cirque du Soleil, au Festival Juste pour Rire, au Théâtre Denise-Pelletier, au Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui, au Théâtre du Rideau Vert et au Théâtre du Nouveau Monde

Son travail lui a valu nombreuses reconnaissances dans le domaine artistique dont le Masque de la Révélation de l’année (2003/ avec Simon Boudreault) pour l’adaptation et la mise en scène de son premier spectacle professionnel L’Honnête fille de Goldoni au Théâtre Denise-Pelletier . Dans ce même théâtre, il recevra également les prix du public pour le spectacle et la mise en scène de l’année pour Les Jumeaux Vénitiens de Goldoni (2005) et Dr. Jekyll et M. Hyde de Stevenson (2008). Son impressionnante adaptation de 20 000 lieues sous les mers de Vernes (2009) au sein de sa compagnie (Le Théâtre des Ventrebleus) lui vaudra énormément d’éloges et confirmera son intérêt marqué pour la performance scénique physique et l’innovation des techniques de scène.

Rhinocéros, TNM 2007
Photo: Y. Renaud

Il signe l’ensemble des textes et mises en scène des créations de cette compagnie qui connu un énorme succès durant près de 25 années avec entre autres les spectacles Scrooge (2002), Poe (2006), Rex (2008) et Les Mythomanes (2014) qui forgeront les bases de sa signature artistique.

Son adaptation et sa mise en scène du spectacle Tout Shakespeare pour les nuls à Juste pour rire lui vaudra le Masque du spectacle de l’année en 2006. Sa création Théâtre Extrême, avec le Théâtre du Vaisseau d’Or, sera cité Top5 des meilleurs spectacles de l’année 2007, année où il remporte également le Billet d’Or pour son adaptation et sa mise en scène de Huit Femmes de Robert Thomas. La pièce Rhinocéros de Ionesco, dont il signe la mise en scène, suivra avec quatre prix Gascon-Roux au TNM l’année suivante (2008).

Il sera récipiendaire du Grand Prix Desjardins pour les arts de la scène en 2014 et de nouveau en 2016. Cette même année, il sera de la production Gloucester (Théâtre de La Bordée et Place des Arts) qui marquera la première publication de l’une de ses pièces, co-écrite avec Simon Boudreault (Dramaturges éditeurs).

C’est en 2010-11 qu’il fait ses premiers pas dans l’univers circassien avec la remise en piste du spectacle Omaterra, présenté à Sherbrooke durant deux années consécutives et récipiendaire du Grand Prix du Tourisme.

Stone, CDS 2017
Photo: MA Lemire

En 2015, il rejoint le Cirque du Soleil pour diriger les spectacles de la Série hommage présentés à l’amphithéâtre Cogeco de Trois-Rivières. Il sera derrière les immenses succès Le Monde est fou (Beau Dommage, 2015), Tout Écartillé (Robert Charlebois, 2016), Stone (Luc Plamondon, 2017), Juste une p’tite nuite (Les Colocs, 2018) et Joyeux Calvaire (Les Cowboys Fringants, 2019). Il fera son entrée dans le grand chapiteau du Cirque du Soleil en 2019 avec la relecture acclamée du spectacle-culte Alegria-Sous un nouveau jour.  Il a été derrière l’élaboration de plusieurs projets pour le Cirque du Soleil dont Biloxi-Mississipi, Beijing-Chine, Osaka-Japon et prochainement La Valette-Malte.

Il a également travaillé à plusieurs reprises au sein de compagnie de la relève et auprès d’institutions d’enseignements théâtrales dont le Conservatoire d’Art Dramatique de Montréal (Smog, 2003), l’École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada avec Scenes from the big picture d’Owen Mcafferty (2006) et Méphisto d’Ariane Mnouchkine (2008), ainsi qu’à l’option-théâtre-musical du collège Lionel-Groulx où il a dirigé le spectacle musical L’Opéra de Quat’sous de Brecht-Weill (2009).

Il donne régulièrement des formations en mise en scène, direction d’acteurs et écriture dramatique. Il a récemment été chargé du cours d’Écriture dramatique à l’École Supérieure de Théâtre (UQAM 2020-21).